The Briar King

The Briar King

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
3
1
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Two millennia after humans were freed from the tyranny of slavery, the Briar King, a legendary portent of death, reawakens, and the fate of the kingdom lies in the hands of the king's woodsman, a rebellious girl, and a new-made knight.

Blackwell North Amer
In the kingdom of Crotheny, two young girls play in the tangled gardens of the sacred city of the dead. Fleeing an imaginary attacker, the girls - one of whom is the reckless young daughter of the king - discover the unknown crypt of the legendary, ancestral queen, Virgenya Dare.
In the wilds of the forest, while investigating the slaughter of an innocent family, the king's holter, Aspar White, weaves his way through a maze of ancient willows - and comes face-to-face with a monstrous beast found only in folktales and nightmares. Meanwhile traveling the same road, a scholarly young priest begins an education in the nature of evil, having found it festering just beneath the surface of the seemingly peaceful land.
The royal family itself comes under siege, facing betrayal that only sorcery could accomplish. Now - for three beautiful sisters, a young man made suddenly into a knight, and woman in love with a roguish adventurer - a rising darkness appears, shattering what was once certain, familiar, and good. These destinies and more will be linked when malevolent forces walk the land. For Crotheny, the most powerful nation in the world, is shaken at its core. And the Briar King, harbinger of death, has awakened from his slumber.
Imbuing his tale with richness, pathos, action, and passion, Greg Keyes begins a new epic. At the heart of the story, Keyes has placed a remarkable young woman, Anne Dare, the youngest daughter of a royal family... and the one person upon whom the fate of this world may depend.

Baker
& Taylor

Two millennia after the Born Queen had defeated the Skasloi lords, freeing humans from the tyranny of slavery, deadly creatures once again terrorize the land as the Briar King, a legendary portent of death, reawakens, and the fate of the kingdom lies in the hands of the king's woodsman, a rebellious girl, an adventurers, a young priest, and a new-made knight.

Publisher: New York : Del Rey, 2003
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780345440662
0345440668
Branch Call Number: SF/Fantasy Key
Characteristics: 552 p. : col. map ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

f
Filthy_Doves
Apr 26, 2016

Honestly my favorite book series, would recommend to any fans of fantasy novels.

j
JihadiConservative
Feb 18, 2016

Keyes stunned the fantasy community with his phenomenal new high fantasy novel, The Briar King, a few years ago. This guy is a master of the English language. His writing is both witty and beautiful; sort of an Oscar Wild meets J.R.R. Tolkien synergy. His plot is thick, rich with interesting characters (and the dialogue is top notch and at times, hilarious), and the world fairly gritty, though less so than George R. Martin's. Keyes takes old fantasy cliches and creates something new. I can't recommend this fantasy series enough. Keyes continues his excellent standard throughout the series for the first couple, but the last book things fall to pieces.
What a magnificent start and an equally magnificent failure of an ending. Had Keyes kept things up, this series would have been up there on the Great or Top 100 list, but now it's only Good enough. Shame.

JCLJaredH Jun 18, 2014

The first book in the Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone series, this is a story of complex plots, flawed and complicated characters, political machinations spanning the world, and a shadow seeding chaos everywhere. While not as intricate as some stories out there today (A Song of Ice and Fire), it still delivers a well thought out story of men, magic, and monsters.
Fans of Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series and Williams Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn series should enjoy this four book series.

Age

Add Age Suitability

c
cpurvis
Dec 27, 2010

cpurvis thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

c
cpurvis
Dec 27, 2010

The first book in the Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone series.

The Born Queen, Virgenya Dare, defeats the evil Skasloi with magic and frees humanity from slavery. The Skasloi king tells Virgenya humanity is cursed. About 2300 years later, Dare's grave is found by her descendant, rebellious Princess Anne.

The forester Aspar White rescues a novice monk, Stephen Darige, from a kidnapping. Aspar is warned about the mythical Briar King by the strange Sefry travellers.

Evil Prince Robert murders his sister and tricks his brother into war with nearby Hansa. Queen Muriele secretly sends Anne and her friend Austra to a convent to be trained as an assassin. Muriele and her two other daughters evacuate to the country, aided by loyal knight Neil MeqVren who is in love with Princess Fastia.

At the monastery, Stephen finds corruption within the church, and prophecies concerning the terrifying Briar King. Beneath the castle, the captive last Skasloi (known as "the Kept") makes evil predictions. Anne's training takes a strange turn as she finds herself in a magical realm. On her return, Anne is warned she must be Queen to save the world.

The other princesses are murdered as Neil and Muriele watch helplessly - themselves saved only by the appearance of the Briar King. As the assassins aim for their final target, Anne and Austra escape the mass slaughter at the convent, aided by swordsman Cazio and his mentor z'Acatto. Prince Robert murders the king who deals a fatal wound as he dies.

Muriele, back in Eslen, consults the Kept from whom she gets the most terrible curse imaginable to cast on the murderer of her husband. She does not know that it was Robert and that he is also dead. The curse, however, is more powerful even than death and by casting this on Robert, Muriele inadvertently and unintentionally breaks the Law of Death.

The Briar King ends with the awakening of Robert, now a form of undead, which also explains the title of the next volume, The Charnel Prince

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for The Briar King to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top