Searching for Pemberley

Searching for Pemberley

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Sourcebooks Inc.

"History, romance, and even a little mystery all combined in one wonderful book." -Best Sellers World, Five Star Review

Maggie went in search of a love story, but she never expected to find her own...

Desperate to escape her life in a small Pennsylvania mining town, Maggie Joyce accepts a job in post-World War II London, hoping to find adventure. While touring Derbyshire, she stumbles upon the stately Montclair, rumored by locals to be the inspiration for Pemberley, the centerpiece of Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice.

Determined to discover the truth behind the rumors, Maggie embarks on a journey through the letters and journals of Montclair's former owners, the Lacey family, searching for signs of Darcy and Elizabeth.

But when the search introduces her to both a dashing American pilot and a handsome descendant of the "Darcy" line, Maggie must decide how her own love story will end.

Perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberley.

Praise for Searching for Pemberley:
"A shining addition to the world of historical fiction."- Curled Up With A Good Book
"A resounding success on all levels."- Roundtable Reviews
"A precious jewel of a novel with a strong love story and page-turning mystery. Absorbing, amusing, and very cleverly written."- The Searcher


Through letters, diary entries, and oral history, a couple in the nearby village share stories of the people they say inspired Jane Austen. They also tell their own love story, made difficult by their vastly different backgrounds-she was one of the social elite while he was the son of a servant.

Publisher: Napierville, IL : Sourcebooks Landmark, c2009, c2007
ISBN: 9781402224393
1402224397
Characteristics: vi, 473 p. ; 20 cm
Alternative Title: Pemberley remembered

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
adagio4him
Jul 29, 2016

I love Pride & Prejudice but this book dragged a bit for me.

w
wrempel
Apr 26, 2016

Now I know how hard it must be to write even-handed reviews. I am mourning the time I wasted reading this book. The only ties to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice are the author's supposition that there was a historical family that Jane Austen based her story on. She spends a great deal of time comparing her story to Austen's as small tidbits that are doled out over the course of the book against the aftermath of the First and Second World Wars for that fabricated family. The new love story imposed on that background does not mirror any of the love stories within Pride and Prejudice, and isn't that interesting in and of itself. I feel that the author wanted to write a war time romance, got lost in a huge amount of exposition, and used the fictitious link to Pemberley as a marketing tool. In short: reader beware.

j
jdatwell
Apr 24, 2012

I really loved this book. I haven't read any of Austen books but i might know it really was a new look at the books. Very well and worth it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for Searching for Pemberley to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top