The Queen of Patpong

The Queen of Patpong

A Poke Rafferty Thriller

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Baker & Taylor
The quiet Bangkok family life of American travel-writer Poke Rafferty, wife Rose, and daughter Miaow is threatened when a man from Rose's past forces Poke to uncover the whole truth about his wife's former life in a red-light district.

HARPERCOLL

&;Hallinan is a wordsmith of the first order, and he puts his great narrative skills into overdrive on this one&;.You won&;t read a better thriller this year!&;
&;John Lescroart, New York Times bestselling author of Treasure Hunt

 

Author Timothy Hallinan returns to Bangkok, Thailand&;and plunges his protagonist, travel writer Poke Rafferty, into graver peril than ever before&;in The Queen of Patpong, Hallinan&;s fourth Rafferty thriller following A Nail Through the Heart, The Fourth Watcher, and Breathing Water.  Fans of John Burdett, Alexander McCall Smith, Daniel Silva, and Alan Furst who love being transported to exotic locales will be riveted when a nightmare figure from the past arrives at Poke Rafferty&;s door to bring chaos and danger to the lives of the people he loves.



Baker
& Taylor

The quiet Bangkok family life of American travel-writer Poke Rafferty, wife Rose and daughter Miaow, is threatened when a man from Rose’s past forces Poke to uncover the whole truth about his wife’s former life in a red-light district. 20,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, c2010
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780061672262
0061672262
Characteristics: 312 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
jenforbus May 02, 2011

This is the fourth book in a wonderful series. The characters are rich, dimensional people. And their relationships to each other are a large part of the enjoyment of the series.

Hallinan illustrates Bangkok colorfully, with detailed imagery and wonderful description that affects all the senses.

The plot is developed around emotional social issues but Hallinan deftly intertwines a playful sense of humor as well. The dialogue is sharp and flows naturally.

An overall exceptional read and one that I recommend regularly.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for The Queen of Patpong to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top