The Start of Everything

The Start of Everything

A Novel

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last page.

“If you don’t want to see me again, say so. But it’s not right to say nothing. It’s not right to go silent. You know what to do.”

Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story.

Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth—about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager—she may have to betray her partner.

“Emily Winslow effortlessly weaves together separate lives with intertwined lies, creating a powerful web of small deceits and horrifying misdeeds. The Start of Everything is a must read!”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner

Baker & Taylor
When a Cambridge murder is tied to the inadvertent reading of a private letter, Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann is forced to consider a life-changing betrayal while investigating a hallowed university, a troubled young woman and a modest country manor overshadowed by a deadly secret. By the author of The Whole World.

Baker
& Taylor

When a Cambridge murder is tied to the reading of a private letter, Chloe Frohmann is forced to consider a life-changing betrayal while investigating a hallowed university, a troubled young woman, and a manor overshadowed by a deadly secret.

Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, 2012
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780385342902
038534290X
Characteristics: 254 p. ; 32 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for The Start of Everything to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top