Novels 2001-2007

Novels 2001-2007

The Dying Animal ; The Plot Against America ; Exit Ghost

Book - 2013
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
The definitive Philip Roth edition continues with three novels written in his late sixties and early seventies. The Dying Animal (2001) marks the final return of David Kepesh from The Breast (1972) and The Professor of Desire (1977). Now an eminent cultural critic in his sixties, Kepesh expertly seduces a beautiful twenty-four-year-old daughter of Cuban exiles only to find himself torn by sexual jealousy and the anguish of loss. As The Plot Against America (2004) begins, aviation hero Charles A. Lindbergh has defeated Franklin Roosevelt in the 1940 presidential election, and fear invades every Jewish household in America. Lindbergh has publicly blamed the Jews for pushing America toward a pointless war with Nazi Germany, and now in office, he negotiates a cordial “understanding” with Adolf Hitler. What follows for Jews during the Lindbergh presidency—most particularly in the Newark household of the boy Philip Roth—is the subject of an extraordinary work of historical imagination. With Exit Ghost (2007) Roth rings down the curtain on perhaps his greatest literary creation. Nathan Zuckerman returns to a radically changed New York, the city he left eleven years before, where a rash decision draws him into a vivid drama rife with implications for his future, and his past.

Philip Roth is the only living American novelist to have his work published in a comprehensive, definitive edition by The Library of America. He has received the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award twice, the PEN/Faulkner Award three times, the National Medal of Arts, and the Gold Medal in Fiction, the highest award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Baker & Taylor
A definitive collection of three tour de force novels written in the author's 60s and 70s includes The Dying Animal, a final tale starring David Kepesh; The Plot Against America, which envisions a rise in anti-Semitism when Charles A. Lindbergh is elected President; and Exit Ghost, in which a rash decision triggers a life-changing drama.

& Taylor

A collection of three novels written in the author's sixties and seventies includes "The Plot Against America," which envisions a rise in anti-Semitism when Charles A. Lindbergh is elected president.

Publisher: New York : Library of America, 2013
ISBN: 9781598531985
Characteristics: 693 p. ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Miller, Ross


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for Novels 2001-2007 to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.

To Top