The Shadowy Horses

The Shadowy Horses

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
15
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Archaeologist Verity Grey travels to the Scottish Borderlands to search for the resting place of the Ninth Roman Legion after a local boy spots what he claims was a Roman soldier walking in the fields.

Sourcebooks Inc.

A brooding and atmospheric Scottish tale from a RITA and RT Reviewers Choice Award—winning and New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

The invincible ninth Roman Legion marches from York to fight the Northern tribes, and then vanishes from the pages of history. When Verity Grey goes looking for them, she may find more than she bargained for.

Archaeologist Verity Grey has been drawn to the dark legends of the Scottish Borderlands in search of the truth buried in a rocky field by the sea.

Her eccentric boss has spent his whole life searching for the resting place of the lost Ninth Roman Legion and is convinced he's finally found it—not because of any scientific evidence, but because a local boy has "seen" a Roman soldier walking in the fields, a ghostly sentinel who guards the bodies of his long—dead comrades.

Here on the windswept shores, Verity may find the answer to one of the great unsolved mysteries of our time. Or she may uncover secrets someone buried for a reason.

A modern gothic historical fiction with elements of mystery, ghosts, and romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Susanna Kearsley.

Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Daphne Du Maurier will want to join Julia and Mariana on their journeys to love, past and present.

Other great books by Susanna Kearsley:
The Winter Sea
The Firebird
The Rose Garden
Mariana

Suzanna has had books selected for the Mystery Guild, was a finalist for the UK's Romantic Novel of the Year Award, and won a National Readers' Choice Award and a RITA.

What reviewers are saying about The Shadowy Horses:

"Kearsley's tale is lush with romantic and ghostly threads." — Kirkus

"Brooding and atmospheric... lovers of all things Scottish are going to adore this work. This poetic novel will seduce readers with its beautiful prose and lush, vivid descriptions of the Scotland shore." — RT Book Reviews

"intense, heartbreaking, and wonderfully satisfying" — Luxury Reading



Publisher: Naperville, Ill. : Sourcebooks Landmark, c2012
ISBN: 9781402258718
1402258712
9781402258725
1402258720
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
dorothy1
Oct 17, 2017

A different kind of ghost story. I enjoyed the history and the touch of eeriness.

AL_LESLEY Nov 16, 2016

She sure does write a good Scotsman and I like her style but this story was a bit more surface-y than her others.

r
ryner
Jul 23, 2014

Accepting an invitation to work on an archaeology dig sight unseen, Verity Grey heads up to Eyemouth, a small village in southern Scotland, where she is introduced to a number of other people with varying interests in the dig: Peter Quinnell, an eccentric owner of the estate and an archaeologist himself, convinced despite any concrete evidence that his property was the site of an ancient Roman military camp; Adrian Sutton-Clarke, a surveyor whom Verity had dated some time ago; Peter's attractive but unfriendly granddaughter Fabia; David Fortune, another archaeologist from the local university who immediately catches Verity's eye; and the mysterious young boy Robbie from a nearby cottage. When she begins to hear the sound of phantom horses' hooves outside her window at night, Verity realizes that this is going to be no ordinary dig.

I love the subtle but satisfying way in which the author connected The Firebird to this book, but I'm afraid that if I weren't already interested in archaeology myself I'm not sure how much interest it would have held. The characters were sort of disappointingly predictable, and I also found myself wishing that the sentry had ultimately played a more prominent role, as the element of magical realism is what has drawn me to Kearsley's books up until now. Overall, worth reading, but not one of her best.

b
barb8571
Jan 28, 2014

I really enjoyed this book. I picked it up after reading another book by Susanna Kearsley called The Winter Sea (I think). Not too heavy, but interesting. Love how there's a ghost in the story as well.

s
shizuku_san
Dec 24, 2013

The writing in this book was mediocre at best and most of the characters were one-dimensional (including the narrator). Nonetheless it was interesting enough that I read the whole thing to find out what happened.

s
Sarah17
Dec 07, 2013

I loved this just because it was light, slightly "fantasy-esque" reading.

s
scrubble4
Sep 15, 2013

I have just discovered Susanna Kearsley and I am enjoying her books. Her writing is vivid whether describing mundane experiences or more exciting ones she brings a freshness to her descriptions.

I enjoyed Shadowy Horses more than Marianna which I found to have an unsatisfactory ending for me.

p
Palomino
Jul 12, 2013

I loved this, it was gothic and mysterious and romantic and kind of thrilling. The pace was perfect ,the writing was surprisingly good.

BPLNextBestAdults Apr 08, 2013

Fans of Diana Gabaldon will enjoy this historical novel Shadowy horses by Susana Kearsley. Verity Grey, an archaeologist, is lured to a dig in the small Scottish village of Eyemouth where rumours abound that this site was the marching camp of the Roman Ninth Legion. A local lad, Robbie has “seen” a Roman soldier walking the fields. Verity is enchanted with the beautiful and wild scenery of the Scottish Borderlands and is also enchanted with Davy one of the archaeologist on the dig. The appeal factors are period details about the Roman occupation of Scotland and the work of archaeologists. The tone of the romance is gentle and would appeal to both young and mature readers. KY

jdaigle3 Feb 13, 2013

I listened to this as an audiobook from my library and I think that might help resolve a lot of the problems other readers have found with this book. Personally, any story read with British and (especially) Scottish accents is more enjoyable than just about anything else out there! I found myself trying to fit listening to a book into more and more of my day just so I could find out the ending!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

cmlibrary_ecrites Jul 14, 2016

cmlibrary_ecrites thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top