Don't Let Me Go

Don't Let Me Go

A Novel

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
In this follow-up to the riveting international bestseller No Child of Mine, author Susan Lewis delivers an emotionally complex novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—of reinvention, reconnection, and the deepest love that can bind two people together.

Charlotte Nicholls can hardly believe it, but it seems she’s landed in paradise. Living in a cottage in a shady cove on the beautiful Bay of Islands, surrounded by the splendor of New Zealand, Charlotte revels in her new life. She and her nearly four-year-old daughter, Chloe, have started over, with the help of Charlotte’s birth mother, Anna, who has recently reentered Charlotte’s life after a twenty-six-year absence. Little Chloe is thriving in her new home, and despite lingering effects from a terrible trauma Chloe has suffered, Charlotte is hopeful that love will pull her through. And though their relationship is tentative, Charlotte and Anna are slowly rebuilding their trust after nearly a lifetime apart.
 
But the horrors of the past—both recent and long buried—are never far from Charlotte’s mind. And then their idyll is suddenly shattered, as a series of events is set in motion that Charlotte can neither control nor comprehend. It will take all of Charlotte’s strength to keep her little family together, in the face of a world that will do everything it can to tear them apart.

Praise for Don’t Let Me Go
 
“An emotionally complex novel.”USA Today

“Unputdownable . . . a compelling blend of family dynamics, courtroom drama, and love story.”Booklist

“You know you’re in the hands of a master storyteller when you can’t bear the tension. Susan Lewis drops you into a nightmare where the best interests of a child collide with the law designed to protect her. The endearing little girl at the center of this poignant and gripping tale, as well as the brave protagonist, will win your heart.”—Diane Chamberlain, internationally bestselling author of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes

“A gripping tale that pulls you in from the first chapter to the end, Don’t Let Me Go is a read that will remind you just how precious children are.”—Romance Reviews Today

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

Baker & Taylor
Social worker Alex raises the child she kidnapped from an abusive family and struggles to distance herself from a painful past that returns in nightmarish ways when a jealous adversary discovers her true identity.

Baker
& Taylor

A sequel to No Child of Mine finds social worker Alex raising the child she kidnapped from an abusive family at the side of her own once-estranged mother and struggling to distance herself from a painful past that returns in nightmarish ways when a jealous adversary discovers her true identity. Reprint.

Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2013]
Edition: Ballantine Books trade paperback edition
ISBN: 9780345547736
034554773X
Characteristics: 521 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

1
1_Great_Book
Jan 21, 2015

Must read prequel prior to this.
Happy sigh. Resolution. Charlotte and Chloe are finally safe. Was uneasy with the escape in first book and appreciate how the accountability was addressed in this sequel - otherwise it would have been too much of a fairy tale. Gripping read - the first book kept me up and the second had me just as distracted. Excellent writing allows you to be transported to the world within.

r
rbussa
Jul 22, 2014

Make sure to read "No child of mine" first as this is subsequent.

This was an amazing book, so hard not to keep a few chapters to see what happens. Had me on the edge of my seat and hard to put the book down.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for Don't Let Me Go to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top