Land of Love and Drowning

Land of Love and Drowning

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
" A major debut from an award-winning writer-an epic family saga set against the magic and the rhythms of the Virgin Islands. In the early 1900s an important ship sinks into the Caribbean Sea, just as the Virgin Islands are transferred from Danish to American rule. Orphaned by the sunk vessel are two sisters and their half-brother, now faced with an uncertain identity and future. Each of them is unusually beautiful, and each is in possession of a particular magic that will either sink or save them. Chronicling three generations of an island family from 1916 to the 1970s, Land of Love and Drowning is a novel of love and magic, set against the emergence of Saint Thomas into the modern world. Wholly unique, with echoes of Toni Morrison, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and the author's own Caribbean family history, the story is told in a language and rhythm that evokes an entire world and way of life and love. Following the Bradshaw family through sixty years of fathers and daughters, mothers and sons, love affairs, curses, magical gifts, loyalties, births, deaths, and triumphs, Land of Love and Drowning is a gorgeous, vibrant debut by an exciting, prize-winning young writer"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Riverhead Books, 2014
ISBN: 9781594488337
1594488339
Branch Call Number: Fiction Yan
Characteristics: 358 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kschafer12
Oct 11, 2016

I really tried to like this book but it left me feeling a bit disturbed...the way the book was written was not to my liking either. The author constantly gave the plot away which at the time in the book you are reading doesn't make any sense so I dont understand why it is even relevant to bring up...just let the story unfold...
Then to top it off there is a little bit about her daughter being telepathic? I tried to look past all this for some deeper meaning in the end but maybe unless you are from that region you just wont understand?

m
mosedevo
Aug 13, 2015

VACATION READ

j
joanieg19902
Dec 06, 2014

A wonderful book that describes the beauty and culture of the US Virgin Islands and British Virgin Islands. Tourists don't see this any more as the 'culture' of the USVI and BVI are so much about shopping and vacations. Having been there many times since the 60's, I really enjoyed this book. It is also a story of love and betrayal.

m
marthabwaters
Dec 02, 2014

This is a beautifully-written novel full of magical realism, set in the US Virgin Islands and covering several generations of women from the same family. It's not for everyone, and by the end of the novel I found myself losing interest in some of the characters, but I am positive that readers who like this sort of book will really enjoy this one. I'd suggest it as a great readalike for fans of Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Isabel Allende.

ValleyViewLibrarians Aug 08, 2014

Lyrical writing and a lush tropical setting create a foundation for this densely-woven tapestry of love, magic, and desire. A must-read for fans of Isabel Allende and Gabriel García Márquez.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
BPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top