My Fair Junkie

My Fair Junkie

A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Grand Central Pub
In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.

Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon."

Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties.

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

Baker & Taylor
A former stand-up comic and prolific online writer chronicles her twenty-year battle with sex, drug, and alcohol addiction, and what happened when she finally emerged on the other side.

Baker
& Taylor

A former stand-up comic and prolific online writer chronicles her 20-year battle with sex, drug and alcohol addiction, and what happened when she finally emerged on the other side. 35,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Hachette Books, 2017
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780316430951
0316430951
Branch Call Number: 362.29 D816m
Characteristics: 242 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
MplsTA
Dec 01, 2017

Her story about getting sober is sad, funny and sarcastic. She writes about trying to get clean multiple times and spending time in sober houses and court. One of the most interesting of her stories is being sentenced to a jail work crew. She is also a stand up comic which (I think) adds humor and sarcasm to her story.
Be warned-this book can be raw. Lots of profanity and sexual situations.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at BPL.

Try searching for My Fair Junkie to see if BPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top